Living and Learning

So I chose to go ahead and give myself a present and learn something at the same time. Up until now, the largest prints I’ve done are 8×10’s in 11×14 frames. I decided to kick it up one more notch and make myself purchase a large frame to fill with a great picture. My photos are best viewed large since I use a wide angle lens and I think it makes them even more breathtaking.

So I went to Michael’s Arts and Crafts. We were on a shopping mission for our wedding and bought over $200 worth of centerpiece items (paying someone else to do the same would probably cost us in the $1000-$2000 range, so I’m happy to have spent that). We swung by the frames aisle and I chose a large frame. I headed over to the mattes section and got a matte that had an opening for a 12×18 photo. Now I’m in business.

I excitedly couldn’t wait to go get a good print done to put into this badboy. I chose my favorite Blair Covered Bridge photo that went well with the brown of the frame and the creme of the matte. I had it printed out over at Ritz Camera where they do well taking care of me and my photos.

I was giddy all the way home, I couldn’t wait to tear into this project and get it going. I had the photo secured to the matte, the frame was taken apart so I could clean the glass. After wiping down the first side I looked away for a moment and the glass had slid, one corner under the frame and the rest above it. As I lifted the glass to flip it over. ..

crrraaack.

I screamed “NO!!!” so loud I’m sure my neighbors heard. I’d not been this mad since I found out “Say Yes to the Dress” was having spinoffs to increase the amount of time each week I’m forced to watch it.

I was so angry with myself AND the glass. Screw YOU glass for breaking on me. I noticed how flimsy the glass was to begin with. Maybe it was better off that I get rid of it and buy a new piece. Now the hard part will be finding a replacement sheet of glass that will fit this frame. I’m sure most glass places would be happy to cut me one, for a good expensive price. I somehow doubt the quality of glass at the craft store will be much better.

You chalk this one up to “living and learning” as they say. It all goes along with being the first time I attempted a large photo like this, and it won’t be the last, but next time I’ll have to make sure to be extra careful with such fragile glass. Maybe next time I’ll buy a more expensive frame with better glass so I don’t have to worry as much.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

